Book Launch: The Black Girl Survives In This One

04/06/2024 @ 6:00 PM – 8:00 PM America/Chicago Timezone
4901 Canal St.
New Orleans
LA 70119

Tubby & Coo’s Book Shop is SO excited to host Desiree S. Evans and Saraciea J. Fennel on book tour for the release of The Black Girl Survives In This One, an amazing anthology of horror stories where – you guessed it – the Black girls actually survive. And not only that, they’re the heroes.

To celebrate, there will be an author discussion moderated by local author Brittany N. Williams. We will also play a hidden identity horror game throughout the event based on Desiree’s short story The Brides of Devil’s Bayou, and we will take a short walk down to an intersection of 5 cemeteries, where Saraciea will do an immersive reading of Cemetery Dance Party.

HI-BALLZ will also offer themed drinks for the event!

You can register for this event by ordering the book below. We HIGHLY recommend preordering the book, as we can’t guarantee it won’t sell out!


Please note Tubby & Coo’s has a zero tolerance policy for harassment or intimidation of any kind during our events.

To Register: Order the book below.

Order the book to register!

The Black Girl Survives In This One, $20

About the Book

A YA anthology of horror stories centering Black girls who battle monsters, both human and supernatural, and who survive to the end

Be warned, dear reader: The Black girls survive in this one.

Celebrating a new generation of bestselling and acclaimed Black writers, The Black Girl Survives in This One makes space for Black girls in horror. Fifteen chilling and thought-provoking stories place Black girls front and center as heroes and survivors who slay monsters, battle spirits, and face down death. Prepare to be terrified and left breathless by the pieces in this anthology.

The bestselling and acclaimed authors include Erin E. Adams, Monica Brashears, Charlotte Nicole Davis, Desiree S. Evans, Saraciea J. Fennell, Zakiya Dalila Harris, Daka Hermon, Justina Ireland, L.L. McKinney, Brittney Morris, Maika & Maritza Moulite, Eden Royce, and Vincent Tirado. The foreword is by Tananarive Due.