25 Books Releasing in 2018 You Can’t Miss

2017 is coming to a close, and if you’re anything like us, you’ve been prepping your TBR list for 2018 since the summer. There are SO. SO. MANY. amazing books being released in just the first few months of next year that you’ll want to plan at least a couple of hours of reading time every day. Heck, you may want to take off work for a few weeks (or months) just to read. However you plan your reading, here’s a list of the books we’re excited about to help you get a jump start on your 2018 reading list. Update your Goodreads, your Google Doc, your Excel spreadsheet, or whatever it is you may use, and submit your pre-orders via our Place a Special Order form!

JANUARY 2018

The Cruel Prince: The Folk of the Air by Holly Black (Jan. 2): Just say Holly Black, and we’re in. This will be the first book in a new series about a mortal girl who finds herself caught in a web of royal faerie intrigue.

Gnomon by Nick Harkaway (Jan. 9): From the author of The Gone-Away World comes a new novel about a near-future, high-tech surveillance state.

Robots vs. Fairies edited by Dominik Parisien and Navah Wolfe (Jan. 9): The title says it all. Short stories that ask the question: who is more awesome, robots or fairies?

The Lost Plot (The Invisible Library Novel) by Genevieve Cogman (Jan. 9): After being commissioned to find a rare book, Librarian Irene and her assistant, Kai, head to Prohibition-era New York and are thrust into the middle of a political fight with dragons, mobsters, and Fae.

Binti: The Night Masquerade by Nnedi Okorafor (Jan. 16): The conclusion to the acclaimed science fiction trilogy that began with Hugo and Nebula award winning Binti.

Red Clocks by Leni Zumas (Jan. 16): Five very different women navigate new barriers in a dystopian future where they must cope after women’s reproductive rights are once again not in their control.

When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Patrisse Khan-Cullors and asha bandele (Jan. 16): The emotional and powerful story of one of the co-founders of Black Lives Matter and how the movement was born.

The Sky is Yours by Chandler Klang Smith (Jan. 23): A dystopian epic about a future city plagued by dragons, violence, and chaos.

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert (Jan. 30): A debut contemporary YA fantasy about a girl named Alice whose mother is supposedly stolen away into the cruel supernatural world where her grandmother’s cult classic fairy tales are set.

This Will Be My Undoing: Living at the Intersection of Black, Female, and Feminist in (White) America by Morgan Jerkins (Jan. 30): Morgan Jerkins’ highly-anticipated collection of linked essays interweaves her incisive commentary on pop culture, feminism, black history, misogyny, and racism with her own experiences to confront the very real challenges of being a black woman today.

FEBRUARY 2018

Feel Free: Essays by Zadie Smith (Feb. 6): Smith returns with a new collection of essays that poses questions we immediately recognize on a range of subjects.

Jagannath: Stories by Karin Tidbeck (Feb. 6): A debut science fiction story collection with rave reviews from major outlets and support from lauded peers like China Miéville and Ursula K. Le Guin.

Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi (Feb. 13): A debut novel that centers around a young Nigerian woman, Ada, who develops separate selves within her after a tragic assault.

Vengeance by Zachary Lazar (Feb. 13): Inspired by the passion play The Life of Jesus Christ, Lazar’s novel is about a man who attempts to learn the real truth behind the crime committed by an inmate he has befriended in Angola prison.

Blood of a Thousand Stars by Rhoda Belleza (Feb. 20): The sequel to Empress of a Thousand Skies, where vicious politics and high-stakes action culminate in an epic showdown that will determine the fate of the universe.

The Armored Saint (The Sacred Throne) by Myke Cole (Feb. 20): A debut and the first in the new Sacred Throne series, about an Order that kills wizards (and innocents) to ensure the portals to Hell remain closed.

All the Names They Used for God: Stories by Anjali Sachdeva (Feb. 20): For fans of Dave Eggers and Kelly Link, an exhilarating collection of stories that explores the mysterious, often dangerous forces that shape our lives—from censorship and terrorism to technology and online dating.

Dreadful Young Ladies and Other Stories by Kelly Barnhill (Feb. 20): A new collection of short stories from the award-winning author of The Girl Who Drank The Moon.

MARCH 2018

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi (Mar. 6): Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut of magic, royalty, and vengeance that tackles real issues, like racism and prejudice. Be prepared to see it everywhere.

Obsidio by Amie Kaufman &‎ Jay Kristoff (Mar. 13): The exciting finale in the trilogy that broke the mold, The Illuminae Files.

APRIL 2018

Dread Nation by Justina Ireland (Apr. 3): The Civil War is derailed by a zombie infestation that changes the course of history in this novel about America, racism, and the undead.

Heads of the Colored People: Stories by Nafissa Thompson-Spires (Apr. 10): This collection of funny stories examines the concept of black identity in this so-called post-racial era.

The City of Lost Fortunes by Bryan Camp (Apr. 17): The fate of New Orleans rests in the hands of street magician Jude Dubuisson, who has the magical ability to find lost things, in this novel of gods, games, and monsters.

Head On by John Scalzi (Apr. 17): The standalone, near future, SF follow-up to the New York Times bestselling and critically acclaimed Lock In.

MAY 2018

Not That Bad: Dispatches from Rape Culture edited by Roxane Gay (May 1): A provocative collection of essays edited and with an introduction by Roxane Gay that tackles rape, assault, and harassment head-on. Contributors include Ally Sheedy and Gabrielle Union.